Exhibition “Fusion”

Exhibition “Fusion”  Ecole Superieure d’Art de la Reunion. February 9th-12th  2016

An exhibition put on by the Erasmus students at Ecole Superieure d’Art de la Reunion and myself a resident artist at the time on the Island. Combining paintings, photographs, installations and videos, The Fusion exhibition is a reflection of our stay in La Reunion, Our experiences, materials and ideas,

The theme is based on the word “Fusion” From looking into the meaning of the word ‘Fusion’ I have broken it down to the the word ‘Elements‘ and I have based my work on the four individual elements creating photo montages from the photographs I have taken while on the island and also experimenting attaching the images onto the canvas through different processes. The Idea to attach them onto the pieces of canvas was to use a material like cotton that is created from the four elements. When it came to how I would display the works I remembered an artist I was influenced by called Leon Radegonde that I came across exhibiting on the Seychelles Island of Praslin. I really liked his works where he appears to turn paper into leather, hide or parchment and hangs the pieces simply straight onto the wall.

During my process to fuse the images onto the canvas material I actually liked the effect the experiments were creating. Leaving slight bits of image or changing the image through the process. From a fine art perspective I decided to include these pieces in the exhibion along with some of the actual images I used in the photomontages. I would really like to work more with this process of altering an image through the use of different substances onto different materials to see what I can create.

 

Poster Exposition Fusion _DSC0732

IMAGE FIRE FINAL NORMAL website IMAGE AIR FINAL NORMAL web IMAGE EARTH FINAL NORMAL web IMAGE WATER REVERSEExh 3Exh Exh 2

 

 

 

One thought on “Exhibition “Fusion”

  1. Your work looked amazing in the exhibition hall and was so well received by the audience. Your images capture La Reunion in such a unique and extradinary way – well done! X

    Like

Leave a Reply

